2 comments on “Philip A. Levine – Obituary

  1. An excerpt from my eulogy given at the Funeral

    King Solomon said “A good name is better than precious oil; and the day of death than the day of one’s birth.” Jewish tradition says that a peaceful death is one that follows a life rich in good deeds and with vitality of mind.

    Phil married into the role of being my father when I was 16 years old. At no time over the next 35 years did he ever show reluctance or regret. According to Talmud, “it is the obligation of a parent to teach his child to swim.” This I learned long before Phil came into my life but he did teach me many other things that helped me become a man. Like a good Jewish father, Phil was always loving and compassionate; and always attentive to my needs and to my problems, no matter how small or large.

Leave a Reply

